Hello!

A place where you can talk about anything Dawn of Light or DAOC related

Moderators: Project Admin, Support Team

Hello!

Postby Scootske » Thu Dec 03, 2015 7:00 pm

Hi DOL community! I've been lurking around these forums for about a week now and must say I'm very interested in the project. So, I figured I'd pop my head up to say hello, share a bit about my background and why... and share my appreciation for what you all do. :D

So I studied C++ for a couple years as part of a special technical curriculum in high school back in 2002 time frame. I had only begun to grasp some intermediate level concepts and data structures before I graduated and abruptly stopped programming. This was mostly because Visual Studio wasn't free then, and I was too naive to Linux and the concept of open source IDEs at the time. Fast-forward to today, I'm a Systems Engineer, I currently dabble in some intermediate-level PowerShell scripting that incorporates .NET elements, but have always really wanted to give programming another deep dive. So I picked up a book on C# a couple months ago and so far I'm pretty hooked.