DOL on Linux with Mono3

Discussions on various DOL development features

Moderator: Support Team

DOL on Linux with Mono3

Postby Leodagan » Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:18 am

Hello.

I'm currently trying to install DOL on a Linux private server and achieving a stable server which could run off Mono and expand platform compatibility.

For the background I'm an unix system admin working with managed applications server (mostly J2EE/Oracle based application) and was formerly a PHP/Java/MySQL developer which make DOL C# code mostly readable :D

My purpose with DOL running on Linux is to use some Idle power on a new Linux Box (Core i3 3.4Ghz; 8Go RAM; 2x 1To), I installed as a replacement for an old server, to offer a stable DAOC server for testing purpose and finally try to make an easier Live-like environment to reach RvR in New Frontiers (but I'm more a technician than a game master)

As I don't have lot of time to spend in creating content (which is the weak point of most early Shards) I intend to rely on tools to create some automated content...

Here is the Setup I've made so far :

Prerequisites:

- Mono (> 3.0 or 3.2, try your distribution specific testing packages for those...)
- GTK+ (for gui)
- xauth (for remote display)
- MySQL (I personally use MariaDB as a drop in replacement)
- Packaged SQLite3 for your distribution (Later DOL improvements)
- SVN

Optional :
- Apache + PHP + PhpMyAdmin for easy access to database.

Locales :

DAOC Client use the charset : en_US.CP1252 (Windows Code Page 1252 ~= ISO8859-15), you need to have this locale installed on your system to make it available for Mono.

This setup highly depend on your distribution, search google for your distribution Name + locale + en_US.CP1252

Here is a result for Ubuntu : http://askubuntu.com/questions/76013/ho ... ntu-server

I'll just give the step for "Gentoo" Users (Maybe ArchLinux too...) Because that's part of my Setup :)

as "root" :
Code: Select all